The Africa Food Prize (US $100,000)


Agriculture is Africa’s largest source of income and our biggest opportunity for eliminating poverty and cultivating prosperity on the continent. The Africa Food Prize is a clarion call for a generation of bold, innovative individuals and institutions to create a new era of food security and economic opportunity for all Africans.

The Africa Food Prize was launched on 12 th April 2016, in Ghana.

The US $100,000 accolade will recognize outstanding individuals and institutions that are leading the effort to change the reality of farming in Africa from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives. Winners will be selected by a panel of independent and distinguished leaders in African agriculture chaired by President H.E Obasanjo.

The Africa Food Prize will shine a bright spotlight on bold initiatives and technical innovations that can be replicated across the continent to help millions of smallholder farmersdeliver a new era of sustainable food security and economic opportunity.

It’s a successor of the Yara Prize, which was first established by Yara International ASA in 2005.

The Africa Food Prize builds on the values and principles of the Yara Prize by giving the most prestigious award in African agriculture a distinct African identity and African ownership. The award is being funded jointly by AGRA and Yara.

Prize Objectives
The Africa Food Prize recognizes extraordinary women, men, and institutions whose outstanding contributions to African agriculture are forging a new era of sustainable food security and economic opportunity that elevates all Africans.

Building on the values and principles established by the Yara Prize, the Africa Food Prize puts a bright spotlight on achievements and innovations with transformative power that can be scaled and replicated across the continent to eliminate hunger and poverty and provide a vital new source of employment and income.

Submitting a nomination for Africa food Prize

Nominations must be received by Friday, 10 June 2016 and can be submitted in three ways:

Via post:
Attn: The Africa Food Prize Secretariat
West End Towers, 4th Floor, Kanjata Road
Off Muthangari Drive, off Waiyaki Way
P.O Box 66773, Westlands 00800, Nairobi, Kenya

Via email:

by filling out the form online

Which individuals or organizations are eligible for the Prize?
The Africa Food Prize can be awarded to any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies with a formal and recognized judicial and organizational structure contributing to the overall objectives of the Prize.

Chief Olusegun Obasanjo during the launching of Africa food prize
Chief Olusegun Obasanjo during the launching of Africa food prize

Does the nominee need to be an African citizen or of African descent?
Not necessarily. The Africa Food Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, as long as their work, and outcomes of the work, have had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.

Is the Prize awarded for a specific achievement and does it need to be within a certain period of time?
The Prize can be awarded with reference to a specific contribution or achievement, or a series of efforts and results in the recent past, preferably within the last few years.

Visit the Africa Food Prize Official webpage for more information on how to nominate.